Faculty of Chemistry

With our study programms in chemistry, food chemistry and materials science we offer attractive research fields. In order take the sustainability and environmental compatibility
into account the research foci in chemistry have changed during the last years.

 

The Department of Chemistry at the University of Stuttgart is home to over 250 scientists, including 24 professors, as well as to over 900 students from all areas of chemistry and materials science.

We are part of a leading University of Technology in Germany. Our research is mainly at the interface of chemistry and materials science with the life sciences, environmental and technical sciences. This is why, in addition to the core disciplines of chemistry – inorganic, organic and physical chemistry – chemical technology, biochemistry, food chemistry, theoretical chemistry, polymer chemistry and materials science are an integral part of our department, with their own institutes. We also collaborate with the Stuttgart Max Planck Institutes for Solid State Research and Intelligent Systems, the Fraunhofer Institutes in Stuttgart and the German Institutes for Textile and Fiber Research in Denkendorf.

The broad scientific expertise in our faculty creates a perfect research environment to advance the "Molecular and Materials Sciences". Our work is relevant to a wide range of real-world challenges and technological applications in areas such as energy conversion and storage, catalysis and sustainable chemical production, synthetic biology or adaptive material. For further information please visit our research pages.

The wide range of disciplines covered by the faculty is also key to our modern and attractive study programs in chemistry, food chemistry and materials science. Based on a sound and state-of-the-art academic education, we offer numerous opportunities for specialization at the interfaces of chemistry and materials science with the life sciences, environmental and engineering sciences, which open up pathways to exciting cross-disciplinary research. In our research-driven academic teaching, we involve our students in research work early on. For further information please visit our study pages.

Office of the Dean

Isabella Waldner
Dr.

Isabella Waldner

Faculty Manager

To the top of the page

Doktorand beim Pipettieren mit Eppendorf-Pipette

Fakultät Chemie

Die Fakultät Chemie mit ihren Studiengängen Chemie, Lebensmittelchemie und Materialwissenschaft stellt sich den Herausforderungen der Zeit: Wir leisten unseren Beitrag zur Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltverträglichkeit.

 

Die Fakultät Chemie der Universität Stuttgart beheimatet über 250 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, darunter 24 Professorinnen und Professoren, sowie über 900 Studierende aus allen Bereichen der Chemie und der Materialwissenschaft.

Als Fakultät an einer der führenden technisch orientierten Universitäten in Deutschland tragen wir der besonderen Bedeutung der Chemie und der Materialwissenschaft als hochrelevante Querschnittsdisziplinen für die Lebens-, Umwelt- und Technikwissenschaften Rechnung. Daher sind in unserer Fakultät neben den Kerndisziplinen der Chemie – Anorganische, Organische und Physikalische Chemie – auch die Technische Chemie, die Biochemie, die Lebensmittelchemie, die Theoretische Chemie, die Polymerchemie und die Materialwissenschaft mit eigenen Instituten vertreten. Darüber hinaus pflegen wir enge Beziehungen zu den Stuttgarter Max-Planck-Instituten für Festkörperforschung und Intelligente Systeme, den Stuttgarter Fraunhofer-Instituten sowie zu den Deutschen Instituten für Textil- und Faserforschung in Denkendorf.

Die breite fachliche Expertise unserer Fakultät schafft beste Voraussetzungen, um die Grenzen der “Molecular and Materials Sciences“ durch interdisziplinäre Forschung voranzutreiben. Unsere Arbeit hat Relevanz für ein weites Spektrum realer Herausforderungen und technologischer Anwendungen in Bereichen wie der Wandlung und Speicherung von Energie, Katalyse und nachhaltige chemische Produktion, synthetische Biologie oder adaptiver Materialsysteme für zukünftige Technologien. Nähere Informationen finden Sie auf unseren Forschungsseiten.

Die fachliche Breite der Fakultät ist aber auch Voraussetzung für unser modernes und attraktives Studienangebot in den Fächern Chemie, Lebensmittelchemie und Materialwissenschaft. Auf der Basis einer soliden und modernen akademischen Ausbildung bieten wir zahlreiche Spezialisierungsmöglichkeiten an den Schnittstellen der Chemie und Materialwissenschaft zu den Lebens-, Umwelt und Ingenieurswissenschaften, die Wege zu spannender interdisziplinärer Forschung eröffnen. Im Sinne forschungsgeleiteter akademischer Lehre binden wir unsere Studentinnen und Studenten frühzeitig in laufende Forschungsarbeiten ein. Nähere Informationen finden sich auf unseren Studienseiten.

Dekanatsbüro

Isabella Waldner
Dr.

Isabella Waldner

Fakultätsmanagerin

Zum Seitenanfang